Louisiana, USA: Vape tax hike products must be registered

According to foreign media WAFB reports, the U.S. state of Louisiana passed a new law (Bill 414), which provides for an excise tax increase on e-cigarette oils from 5 cents to 15 cents as of July 1.


Retailers who purchase these products directly from authorized online manufacturers tax-free will be required to pay the excise tax to the Louisiana Department of Revenue on a monthly basis. Fines, penalties and license forfeitures will be strictly enforced relative to wholesalers and retailers who fail to pay the tax on time. Stores that sell atomized e-cigarette products should expect increased inspections by law enforcement officers.


As of October 1, 2023, every manufacturer of atomized products and manufacturers of alternative nicotine products that sell products in Louisiana (and therefore either directly or through wholesalers, retailers, or similar intermediaries) must register each product with the Louisiana Department of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC). A catalog of nebulized products and alternative nicotine products will be available on the ATC website by November 1, 2023.